Keeping on top of your Reading!

Studying New Media and English is great, I really believe I chose the perfect course for myself. However, there are so many things I was not prepared for and certain things that I am finding particularly hard this semester. Until you begin an English course it is impossible to imagine how much reading has to be done. Even the most enthusiastic, speedy, excited readers would struggle to keep on top of their reading lists!

You may study three or four English modules and have at least one novel to read per week for each, that is at least three or four full novels weekly, it can be extremely draining. I am finding this even harder this semester as I am trying to get my final year project underway! However, over the years I have learned a few tips and tricks to help keep myself on top of the required reading!

  • Get your booklist early – although, as college students, we are not sent out a booklist at the beginning of the year, there are other ways to find out which books you will be reading. The website https://www.bookofmodules.ul.ie often has the list of readings, pick your books up in the summer and begin reading!
  • Make a reading schedule – set aims for yourself, if you say you will have up to chapter 15 of one of your novels read by Wednesday, do it. Make sure to keep on top of this schedule and try not to lose track of yourself or your reading!
  • Have fun – all of this reading can seem quite daunting but remember why you decided to do an English degree, because you love reading and writing! Try to remember this.

Thanks for reading!

Image source: https://elgar.blog/2014/02/03/elgar-book-reviews/

Leave a comment